2015 CWW Contest Judges

Lorine Niedecker Poetry Award

Judge: Jericho Brown

Jericho Brown is the recipient of a Whiting Writers Award and fellowships from the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University and the National Endowment for the Arts. His poems have appeared in *The New Republic, The New Yorker*, and *The Best American Poetry*. His first book, *Please*, won the American Book Award, and his second book, *The New Testament*, won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and the Thom Gunn Award; it was named one of the best books of the year by *Library Journal, Coldfront*, and the Academy of American Poets. He is an associate professor in English and creative writing at Emory University in Atlanta.

Edna Meudt Poetry Book Award

Judge: Patricia Smith

Patricia Smith is the author of seven books of poetry, including Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah, winner of the 2014 Rebekah Bobbitt Prize from the Library of Congress, the 2013 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize from the Academy of American Poets and the Phillis Wheatley Award; Savannah was also a finalist for both the William Carlos Williams Award from the Poetry Society of America and the Balcones Prize. Patricia also authored Blood Dazzler, a finalist for the National Book Award, and Teahouse of the Almighty, a National Poetry Series selection. Her most recent book is Gotta Go Gotta Flow, a collaboration with the late Chicago photographer Michael Abramson. Her work has appeared in Poetry, The Paris Review, The New York Times, TriQuarterly, Tin House, The Washington Post, and in both Best American Poetry and Best American Essays. Her contribution to the crime fiction anthology Staten Island Noir, which she edited, won the Robert L. Fish Award from the Mystery Writers of America for the best debut story of the year and was chosen for Best American Mystery Stories. She is a 2014 Guggenheim fellow, a 2012 fellow at both MacDowell and Yaddo, a two-time Pushcart Prize winner, recipient of a Lannan fellowship and a four-time individual champion of the National Poetry Slam, the most successful poet in the competition's history. Her next poetry collection will be released in 2016; she is also working a volume combining poetic monologues and a collaborative novel with her husband Bruce DeSilva, the Edgar-Award winning author of the Liam Mulligan crime novels. Patricia is a professor at the College of Staten Island and an instructor in the MFA program at Sierra Nevada College.

Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award

Judge: Lee K Abbott

Lee K. Abbott is the author of seven collections of short stories, most recently All Things, All at Once: New & Selected Stories (Norton). His fiction has appeared in nearly one hundred periodicals, including *Harper's*, *The Atlantic, The Georgia Review, Epoch, The Southern Review, Tin House*, and *Boulevard*. His work has been reprinted in *The Best American Short Stories, The O. Henry Awards*: *The Prize Stories, The Best of the West* series, and the Pushcart Prize series. Twice a winner of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, he has published essays and reviews in *The New York Times Book Review, The Miami Herald, The Chicago Tribune, and The Los Angeles Times Book Review*. He began his career at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland. He has been a visiting professor at Washington University in St. Louis, Rice University, the University of Michigan, and Colorado College. He is Arts & Humanities Distinguished Professor in English, Emeritus, at The Ohio State University.

Norbert Blei/August Derleth Nonfiction Book Award

Judge: Scott Korb

Scott Korb is the author and editor of several books, including *Life in Year One: What the World Was Like in First-Century Palestine* (Riverhead, 2010), Light Without Fire: *The Making of America's First Muslim College* (Beacon, 2013), and *Gesturing Toward Reality: David Foster Wallace and Philosophy* (Bloomsbury Academic, 2014). His essays and criticism have appeared in *The New York Times Magazine, Harper's, Lucky Peach, Lapham's Quarterly, Tin House*, and elsewhere. He teaches writing at New York University, the New School, and Pacific University's low-residency MFA program.

Kay W. Levin Award for Short Nonfiction

Judge: Kerry Cohen

Kerry Cohen is the author of nine books, including the memoirs *Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity, Seeing Ezra: A Mother's Story of Autism, Unconditional Love*, and the *Meaning of Normal*, which was an Oregon Book Award Finalist, and the forthcoming *Girl Trouble*. Four of her books have been Oregon Book Award finalists, and her young adult novels have been YALSA picks. Her nonfiction has been featured in the *New York Times Modern Love series, The Washington Post Outlook, Brevity, Psychology Today, and Portland Monthly*. She teaches in the Red Earth low-residency MFA program and works as a psychotherapist in Portland, Oregon.

Tofte/Wright Children's Literature Award

Judge: Jenn Crowell

Born and raised in rural Pennsylvania, Jenn Crowell found herself the subject of international media attention (including a *New York Times* photographer documenting her high school graduation) when she signed a two-book contract with Putnam in the spring of 1996, a few weeks shy of her eighteenth birthday. Her first novel, *Necessary Madness*, was released to wide critical acclaim the following year, with publicity tours of the US, UK, Italy, and Australia. Following her college graduation, Crowell published *Letting the Body Lead* in 2002. She then ventured into screenwriting, joining a select group of young independent filmmakers as a 2003 IFP Market Emerging Narrative nominee (for her screenplay adaptation of *Necessary Madness*) and a 2004 Berlin Film Festival Talent Campus Fellow. Jenn earned her MFA in 2011, fifteen years after signing that first contract. She now lives near Portland, Oregon. Her latest novel is *Etched On Me* (Washington Square Press, 2014).

Zona Gale Award for Short Fiction

Judge: David James Poissant

David James Poissant is the author of *The Heaven of Animals: Stories*, longlisted for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, winner of the GLCA New Writers Award and a Florida Book Award, and a finalist for the L.A. Times Book Prize. Poissant's stories and essays have appeared in *The Atlantic Monthly*, *The Chicago Tribune*, *Glimmer Train*, *The New York Times*, *One Story*, *Playboy*, *Ploughshares*, and elsewhere.